The Heart of America Association of Blood Banks is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to improving Transfusion Medicine by fostering the exchange of information and bringing education opportunities to blood bank and transfusion medicine professionals.  The HAABB hosts two annual meetings for the Kansas City & St Louis areas. 








HAABB Board of Directors Contact Information

Each of the officers and board members offer their time to plan the annual educational meeting. Any suggestions for topics or speakers are welcome. Please contact your board members with any feedback about previous meetings. We look forward to hearing from you!

Board Members 2017 -  2018

 Charles McDonald Jr., MBA, MT(ASCP)  


 Cerner Corporation

 Kansas City, Kansas


 Faith Nilhas, MLS(ASCP)CM

 President Elect

 Lawrence Memorial Hospital

 Lawrence, Kansas


 Lynsi Rahorst, MT(ASCP)
 Past President

 Community Blood Center

 Kansas City, Missouri


 Miche Swofford, MLS(ASCP)

 Vice President

 Saint Luke's Hospital

 Kansas City, Kansas


 Diana Moroney, MBA, MT(ASCP),SBB


 American Red Cross

 St. Louis, Missouri


 Gina Gramlich, MT(ASCP)

 SSM Health - St. Mary's Hospital

 Jefferson City, Missouri


 Michelle Burgin, MT(ASCP), SBB

 Member at Large 

 Bothwell Regional Health Center

 Sedalia, Missouri


 Gagan Mathur, MD, MBA

 Member at Large

 Saint Luke's Health System

Kansas City, Missouri


 Ryan Pyles, MLT(ASCP)CM

 Member at Large

 SSM Health Cardinal Glennon

   Children's Hospital

 St. Louis, Missouri


 Susie Shaw, MT(ASCP)

 Member at Large 

 Via Christi 

 Manhattan, Kansas


 Mary Signaigo, MT(ASCP)

 Member at Large 

 Mercy Hospital

 St. Louis, Missouri


 Laurie Wolf, MT(ASCP)SBB

 Member at Large

 Saint Luke's Hospital

 Kansas City, Kansas


 Pat Parton

 Vendor Representative

 Community Blood Center

 Kansas City, MO


 Jennifer Jung, MT(ASCP)

 Web Master

 American Red Cross

 St. Louis, MO