The Heart of America Association of Blood Banks is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to improving Transfusion Medicine by fostering the exchange of information and bringing education opportunities to blood bank and transfusion medicine professionals.  The HAABB hosts two annual meetings for the Kansas City & St Louis areas. 








Call for Recommendations - HAABB 2017-2018 Board of Directors 
We are looking for a few good blood bankers to serve on the next HAABB Board of Directors.

At-Large Member #1

* * * SAVE THE DATE * * *

50th Annual Spring

HAABB Meeting


Harrah's Hotel

One Riverboat Drive

North Kansas City, MO 64116




April 18 - April 19, 2017

The HAABB Board of Directors 

is busy planning an

extra special experience for the 

50th Annual Spring Meeting.  

The preliminary program will be available soon and includes presentations

from these fabulous speakers....

      • Dr. Joe Chaffin, the Blood Bank Guy
      • Dr. Margaret Keller
      • Sandra Nance
      • Dr. Scott Koepsel
      • Jan Hamilton
      • and more! 

 You don't want to miss this 

wonderful educational opportunity!

 Want to be notified when more details are available?

 Complete the form below, click submit, and we will e-mail you when new details are available.  


Need a copy of our W-9?  click here



Beginning in 2011, the HAABB started awarding a matching $500 scholarship to the school of the winning student to be used for educational purposes.  Click on the Student Scholarship tab (above) for more information.




The HAABB welcomes new member



Gina Gramlich, Secretary, 

to the 2016-2017 

HAABB Board of Directors


HAABB is a volunteer organization that provides educational opportunities for medical laboratory professionals with an emphasis on transfusion medicine.

Current Officers 2016- 2017:

President:  Lynsi Rahorst, MHPE, MT(ASCP), Community Blood Center,  Kansas City, MO

President Elect:  Charles McDonald Jr., MBA, MT(ASCP), Cerner Corporation, Kansas City, KS

Past President:  Jennifer Jung, MT(ASCP), American Red Cross, St. Louis, MO  

Vice-President:  Sue Johnson, MBA, MT(ASCP)SBB, Research Medical Center, Kansas City, MO

Treasurer:  Diana Moroney, MBA, MT(ASCP)SBB, American Red Cross, St. Louis, MO

Secretary:  Gina Gramlich, MT(ASCP), SSM Health St. Mary's Hospital, Jefferson City, MO